I’m too much of an opinionated bastard not to be first!

My thanks to the great silverback for setting up this little hovel of profound (or not) rantitude. So let me help this venture in “get-the-hell-off-my-lawn” with the following…

This is just my opinion but everyone should know that getting funded is a fucking crap shoot. First, the disclaimer I have been funded by the NIH and am looking to continue that relationship. Second, if you write a crap proposal you will not get funded! period ( see there it is —> . ) end of story.

But if you write an amazingly great grant, then its a crap shoot. I recently had two great proposals get triaged. Triaging is a way an NIH study section can handle the workload, currently (if my sources are correct) ~2/3 to 3/4 of all proposals in my study sections are triaged. This could mean your proposal sucks or that it was awesome, but so were a bunch of other proposals. This is why its a crap shoot. If most proposals submitted are good, and you’re a fool to think they aren’t, then many good proposals will be triaged and of those not triaged, most still won’t be funded.

(keep reading)

2 Comments

  1. I may be bored with my work, but at least I don’t have to continually seek funding in order to be able to carry it out.

  2. […] 17, 2010 · Leave a Comment We have now had three posts on Opinionated Bastards . Lorax on grant funding, Mike Haubrich on why religion and science are incompatible on an inductive inference, and now […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS

  • Comment policy

    No hate, no personal abuse, no sales and no spam. Trolling will be eliminated by the author or the Administrator at their discretion. Other than that, try to comment according to the policy of the author's blogsite.